Gifted with more than 300 marine and aquatic species coming from a diverse resource of species that include but are not limited to maritime, demersal, and invertebrate, FMA 8 truly is a nature’s treasure trove to behold and conserve for the generations of today and the future.


Amplifying the voices of various fisheries sectors, national and local government institutions, and the private sectors within the FMA 8, inclusive, harmonized, and sustainable management measures and actions created by and with them will be adopted and implemented.


Sound policies backed up by good science recommended by a credible, passionate and highly-capable pool of scientists and science providers will be implemented within the management area to ensure that adaptive and appropriate management schemes will be adopted.

Fisheries Management Area 8

Fisheries Management Area (FMA) 8 remains one of the promising management areas in the Philippines holistically co-managed by significant fisheries industries’ stakeholders representing the 51 coastal municipalities within the regions of Eastern Visayas and Caraga. Know more about the first FMA to establish its own Management Body by reading the FMA 8 Profile.

Facts about FMA 8

Total Area


• Balangiga
• Giporlos
• Guiuan
• Lawaan
• Mercedes
• Quinapondan
• Salcedo

• Basey
• Marabut

• Abuyog
• Dulag
• Javier (Bugho)
• Macarthur
• Mayorga
• Palo
• Tacloban City
• Tanauan
• Tolosa

• Anahawan
• Hinunangan
• Hinundayan
• Liloan
• Saint Bernard
• San Juan (Cabalian)
• San Ricardo
• Silago

• Bacuag
• Claver
• Dapa
• Del Carmen
• General Luna
• Gigaquit
• Placer
• San Benito
• Santa Monica
• Socorro
• Surigao City
• Tagana-an

• Cantilan
• Carmen
• Carrascal
• Cortes
• Lanuza
• Madrid

• Basilisa
• Cagdianao
• Dinagat
• Libjo (Albor)
• Loreto
• San Jose
• Tubajon

Registered Fisherfolks
Registered Boats

6 Baywide Management Alliances


Alliance of Seven Municipalities for Integrated Coastal Zone Management


Alliance of Local Fishery and Aquatic Resources Management Development Council


Pacific Alliance of LGUs for Marine Development Council


Lanuza Bay Development Alliance


Hinatuan Passage Development Alliance


Metro Siargao Alliance for Sustainable Development

Management Body

The FMA 8 is managed collaboratively by the BFAR along with the stakeholders’ representatives from the Local Government Units, municipal fishing, commercial fishing, aquaculture, processors/traders/market organizations, academe, non-government organizations, and National Integrated Protected Areas System (NIPAS) areas within its covered municipalities in Eastern Visayas and Caraga.


The MB members were selected through a series of stakeholders’ consultation in a bid to create a balanced, participative, transparent and adaptive management of its fisheries and marine resources through a holistic and science-based approach.

Through the MB, several significant resolutions have been approved and an Ecosystem Approach to Fisheries Management (EAFM) Plan will be developed and implemented. The body will also establish the Reference Points and Harvest Control Rules, recommend or endorse the appropriate management measures, and lay down broad policies for the entire FMA to be implemented accordingly by the BFAR, LGUs and DENR aligned within their mandates.

Scientific Advisory Group

Dominant Species

Stock Assessment Results

Stock assessments are the backbone of science-based, transparent, and sustainable fisheries management. This shows the status and condition of fish stocks including the top species of fish in the Fisheries Management Area 8.